Class of 2011: Charlotte Inducted into the CFDA!

There are milestones, and then there are milestones. An invitation to join the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) is an incredible honor, one that would fall squarely into the milestones category. We are pleased and excited to join in celebrating, along with 32 other talented and deserving designers, our induction into the CFDA. We’ve been celebrating since Friday when, after deliberating in a board meeting, the CFDA voted to induct the biggest group in the organization’s 49-year history, taking the CFDA’s membership number to 406!

“Each new member is uniquely talented and collectively they add strength to the ever growing influence of the CFDA and American fashion,” Steven Kolb, the CFDA’s CEO, told Women’s Wear Daily.

Congratulations to all the newly-inducted CFDA members!

A.L.C.’s Andrea Lieberman
Alice + Olivia’s Stacey Bendet
Barker Black Ltd.’s Derrick Miller
Barton Perreira’s Patty Perreira
Blake Mycoskie of Toms Shoes
Charlotte Ronson (!!!!!!)
Christian Cota
Cynthia Steffe’s Shaun Kearney
Eddie Borgo
Fenton/Fallon’s Dana Lorenz
Gregory Parkinson
Gryson’s Joy Gryson
Haute Hippie’s Trish Westcoat Pound
Ippolita’s Ippolita Rostagno
Jen Kao
Luis Fernandez of Number:Lab
Mara Hoffman
Melissa Joy Manning
Nine West’s Fred Allard
Ohne Titel’s Alexa Adams and Flora Gill
Prabal Gurung
Rogan/Loomstate’s Scott Hahn and Rogan Gregory
Rubin & Chapelle’s Sonja Rubin and Kip Chapelle
Ruffian’s Brian Wolk and Claude Morais
Tess Giberson
Theory’s Olivier Theyskens
Tucker’s Gaby Basora
United Bamboo’s Thuy Pham and Miho Aoki

About the CFDA

The CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 370 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry, and accessory designers. Membership is by invitation only, and is open to Americans designing in the United States or abroad or international designers whose businesses are based primarily in the United States. Each year, the Admissions Committee meets to review candidates’ applications before making its recommendations to the CFDA’s Board of Directors. An affirmative vote by the Board is required for the election of each new member. n addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which recognize the top creative talent in the industry, the organization offers programs which support professional development and scholarships, including the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholar Award, the Liz Claiborne Scholarship Award, and the CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship. Member support is provided through the Business Services Network, a high-profile group of companies offering designers strategic opportunities.